Story brought to you by:

Story brought to you by:

The Official Dealership of is located at 6800 Dallas Parkway, Plano, TX. 75024 (214) 778-2600

Joel Chouinard taking a shot against Rapid City. Photo By:

AMERICANS ANNOUNCE PROTECTED LIST learned today that the Allen Americans and Head Coach Steve Martinson has announced the team’s protected list for the 2018-2019 season.

Eric Roy of the Allen Americans. Photo By:

Below are specific details, while moving into the 2018/19 season.

Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish, provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association, which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

1. Signed an SPC in 2017-18 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR

2. Signed an SPC in 2017-18, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR

3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR

4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR

5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2017-18 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released.

Protected lists may exceed 20 players.

The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13 and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15.

Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2017-18.

Below is the list of players by position.

Goalie – Jeremy Brodeur

Defensemen – Eric Roy, Dalton Thrower, Joel Chouinard, Gordie Ballhorn, Mike Gunn, Josh Thrower, Miles Liberati and Michael Webster

Forwards – Braylon Shmyr, Jared Bethune, Casey Pierro-Zabotel, Mathieu Foget, Zach Pochiro, Alex Guptill, JC Campagna, Alexandre Carrier, Tristan King, Peter MacArthur, Olivier Archambault, Vincent Arseneau, Jonathan Lessard, Tyler Poulsen, and Wade Macleod.

The following players, who were on American Hockey League contracts last season, cannot be protected; David Makowski, Spencer Asuchak, Bryan Moore and Thomas Frazee.

Given these details, northDsports believes that next season will start with a bang. October 20th can’t come soon enough.

Photo Credit: All photos herein are the property of and the Allen Americans and were published by northDsports with their permission and consent. All content herein, other than property published by permission, is the property of and any reproduction, other than normal social media sharing, is strictly prohibited. Copyright ©, For reprint permission contact


Americans Next Home Game

Allen Americans vs. Wichita Thunder

Date: Saturday, October 20th 7:05 pm

Venue: Allen Event Center

 Watch or Listen Live


Mobile App –


Official Law Office of northDsports

Official Law Office of northDsports

The next time you need Estate Planning, a Will or Trust, contact North Dallas Legal, PLLC for a free no obligation consultation!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.